While TikTok does not allow users to edit one another's posts in a broader sense, you can edit someone else's post to remove yourself if you have been tagged in it. The process of untagging yourself is actually pretty straightforward, and it just requires following the steps outlined below.
- First, open TikTok on your device.
- Then, tap on the messages or inbox icon at the bottom of your home screen.
- Once you've done that, you should see an "All Activity" dropdown that you can click on.
- From there, you should see a menu that includes "Likes," "Comments," "Mentions & Tags" and other items. You should select "Mentions & Tags."
- Once you're in "Mentions & Tags," click on the video you want to untag yourself from.
- Once you've found the right video, click on the mentioned icon near the username to see the list of users who were tagged in the video.
- When you open that list, you should see a button labeled "Remove tag" which will allow you to remove your own tag from the video. This tag is only available for your mention, and not for other users.
Once you click that button, you've successfully untagged yourself from the video. You should receive a banner at the top of your app letting you know it worked.